Skip to main content

Red Rock Yacht Club

Sailing on Lake Red Rock, Iowa's Largest Lake, Since 1977

Add Me To Your Mailing List
HomeIowa Interlakes Regatta





The first Iowa Interlakes Regatta was held in 1975 at Big Creek Lake north of Des Moines. Sailboat racers from all over the state had decided that a statewide event was needed to finish out the year. The tradition continued in 1976 at Clear Lake, 1977 at Okoboji, 1978 at Clear Lake, and in 1979 through the present at Lake Red Rock.


The Hawkeye Cup is as old as the regatta itself and is presented to the first overall PHRF cruising sailboat at the two-day event. In its three-decade history, the cup has never left the state of Iowa, although many out-of-state sailors have tried to capture it. Cups for the first overall monohull and multihull portsmouth entries were added in 1977. Pete Peterson from Kansas City was the first to remove one of the cups -- the monohull cup -- from in Iowa in 1984. A special cup for those who compete in our less intense One-Tack race was added in 1977. The One-Tack race consists of one long-distance race from the marina to the mile-long-bridge near the northwest end of the lake and back each day of the regatta. Our History Page includes lists of past winners of all of the Iowa Interlakes Regatta trophies.


The next Iowa Interlakes Regatta will be held at Lake Red Rock on Saturday and Sunday September 12th and 13th, 2009. There will be both PHRF and Portsmouth classes as well as our own Red Rock One-Tack event. To celebrate the 35th run for the Hawkey Cup, plans are underway for a retro theme for the regatta, starting with entry fees matching what they were 34 years ago and carrying through right down to the t-shirt design.